We have no shared creed, but strive to live by these eight Principles:  

  1.  The inherent worth and dignity of every person;
  2.  Justice, equity and compassion in human relations;
  3.  Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth in our congregations;
  4. A free and responsible search for truth and meaning;
  5. The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large;
  6. The goal of world community with peace, liberty, and justice for all;
  7.  Respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part. 
  8.  “We, the member congregations of the Unitarian Universalist Association, covenant to affirm and promote: journeying toward spiritual wholeness by working to build a diverse multicultural Beloved Community by our actions that accountably dismantle racism and other oppressions in ourselves and our institutions.” (Adopted by the UUCSC on April 18, 2021.  Under consideration for adoption by the UUA.)

We have more than one way of experiencing the world and understanding the sacred. What we call our “Living Tradition” draws from six sources of inspiration from scripture to poetry to modern-day heroes:


  • Direct experience 
  • Words and deeds of prophetic people 
  • Wisdom from the world’s religions 
  • Jewish and Christian teachings 
  • Humanist teachings 
  • Spiritual teachings of Earth-centered traditions